A real article!

I am still in disbelief that I just wrote an article for a credible educational source! Well, if I can write for it, I’m not certain about it’s credibility anymore! I am glad to have written this article because it is exactly what I want educators to know about implementing edtech – keep it simple. It shouldn’t feel like a burden, it shouldn’t feel like a hassle: it should feel natural. I hope I convey that message well enough that teachers will believe me!

I think it is time to start implementing technology into the classroom in ways that were once unimaginable. We are just getting started, but some teachers are afraid to get the ball rolling. I challenge teachers who are afraid to just try it. Worst comes to worst, that edtech program doesn’t work, and the teacher moves on. But if it’s something that is easy to use, and the teacher and the students fall in love with it, the benefits are unbelievable. However, the teacher afraid of trying to implement edtech won’t understand the kind of benefits that can be achieved.

 

Here’s the article.

5 thoughts on “A real article!

  1. Your article for EdSurge is so thoughtful, Collin. The insights into technology integration is sage advice, especially #’s 1&3. I’m interested to know more about engage v. entertain because I think this is an important distinction for teachers to recognize. What are some of EdTech strategies you think help to best engage students? Is there any overlap between these two things? How can teachers recognize when they are doing one or the other?
    Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and I look forward to reading more!

    • Thank you so much! I agree – I think there should be a more pronounced conversation regarding engagement and entertainment in the education world. I do think that there can certainly be an overlap. When using something like PollEverywhere, I know I am engaged with my classmates about a discussion, but at the same time the discussion may be entertaining and interesting to be a part of.

      I don’t think there is one viable solution that engages rather than entertains, and I’m not entirely sure how teachers can recognize one or another.

      Regardless – I have a firm belief that when students are engaged, students will be asking “valuable” questions (however we may qualify that term). For example, with Khan Academy, students come into the classroom, prepared, and with an understanding of a certain topic. As a result, when they come into class, they have more valuable questions because the students know exactly what to ask. Khan Academy was not built for entertainment. The program was designed to engage and help students with their learning. I feel like that should be the ultimate goal to every edtech program.

  2. I just read your article, Collin. Thanks for sharing such valuable thoughts. I agree with you that students and teachers should approach educational technology with an attitude of experimentation while keeping it simple.

    I would love for you to share how you worked with your school to become a teacher tech mentor. How did you begin this process? What has/hasn’t worked for you? What recommendations can you provide to students and staff who would like to implement a program like this?Many educators and students are inspired by your commitment to helping people use edtech in the most effective ways. Looking forward to more from you!

Leave a Reply

